Plans for 2014

A new year, new plans. In the second half of February 2014 I will travel in Ukraine again – to places that are familiar to me and others that are unknown territory yet. Do you have recommendations?
map of Galicia and Bukovina

1. Lviv (Lwow, Lemberg), 2. Staryi Sambir, 3. Velyki Mosty, 4. Burshtyn, 5. Buchach, 6. Hrymailiv, 7. Sataniv, 8. Husiatyn, 9. Chernivtsi (Czernowitz), 10. Novoselitsa

The list of possible destinations was long, now I’ve shrunk it to a realistic level. And yet, 10 destinations in 10 days, looks much. I will see what can be handled when one depends on public transportation in a severe Ukrainian winter. Lviv and Chernivtsi are important reference points for the planned trip – places from where day trips can be managed. Another such starting point could be Ternopil.

Since August 2012, I have photographed synagogues and Jewish cemetries in Galicia and Bukovina – spots that are left from the rich Jewish heritage there. The trip in February will add some more aspects. In the fall of 2014, the pictures will be shown in at least two exhibitions in Germany – during the Jewish Culture Week in Frankfurt and during the “Photokina” photo fair in Cologne.

While making these plans, I also think of my Ukrainian friends. Most of them protest since weeks for a better future. My thoughts and wishes are with them!

I wish all of you a happy new year 2014!

6 thoughts on “Plans for 2014

  1. I visited Nowa Selitza about 3 years ago. Right off the rynek there is a building that had been a synagogue that had awesome murals. I am afraid it was scheduled to be demolished.
    If you wish contact me and I can tell you more about it.

    • I found pictures of this beautiful synagogue and paintings. are you sure it will be demolished?
      What kind of information could you find in Nowa Selitza about the former jewish community? My grandfather Nahman Barak was born there 1890.
      Are you french? Then you can answer in French.
      Marie Barak, mariezing@gmail.com

      • When I visited there in 2010, the building was in great disrepair, many walls and pieces of the beautiful paintings had been destroyed by pick ax already. I was told by the local people that the building was slated to be leveled to build something else in its place. I will be very glad if that turns out not to be true. There are 2 cemeteries in town that were in better shape that others in the region, both having live in caretakers that although supposedly being paid by the Chernowitz community, did not fail to ask me for money and curse me for not giving them enough…. that was a common fact everwhere. BTW I felt I gave them a fair amount (10 bucks)

Leave a Reply

